Office of Mayor William Peduto
City Planning Commission


The City Planning Commission is a nine-member panel appointed by the Mayor for six-year staggered terms. The Commission is charged with guiding land use and development in the City. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to City Council concerning the Zoning Ordinance and zoning map, reviews major development proposals and prepares redevelopment plans.

Governing Documents

Pittsburgh Code, Title One, Article III, Chapter 135
Pittsburgh Code, Title Nine, Article VII, Chapter 923.01

Appointment Guidelines


  • Christine Mondor, Chairwoman
    Term expires 1/2/18
  • Barbara Valaw, Vice Chairwoman
    Term expires 1/2/16
  • Paul Gitnik, Secretary
    Term expires 4/30/12
  • Jennifer Askey
    Term expires 1/2/16
  • Fred Brown
    Term expires 1/2/16
  • John Paul Jones
    Term expires 1/2/18
  • Lashawn Burton-Faulk
    Term expires 1/2/20
  • Lucy Spruill
    Term expires 2/28/18

Residency Requirements



None, except $5/meeting for transportation.


Every other Tuesday, 2:00 PM.

Contact Information



The Office of Mayor William Peduto
512 City County Building, 414 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412-255-2626

© 2015 | City Of Pittsburgh | City Directory
Search | Employee Email | Cityweb | Policies | Regulations
Questions concerning the website? Contact Us
what's this?