Office of Mayor William Peduto
Shade Tree Commission


The Shade Tree Commission is a non-profit organization, linked to the Mayor's Office, with the task of restoring and maintaining the city's tree population, in recognition of the value of Pittsburgh's urban trees as one of our city's greatest assets. To that end the commission is dedicated to providing policy makers, City Departments, and the general public with accurate and objective information on public policy issues affecting the urban forest. The Commission strives to expand projects based on intergovernmental and community partnerships as well as sound forestry practices. The Shade Tree Commission also directs the expenditure of funds from the Shade Tree Trust Fund to advance urban forestry initiatives.

Governing Documents

Pittsburgh Code Title Four, Article XIII, Chapter 487

Appointment Guidelines

  • 15 members
    • All appointed by Mayor; confirmed by City Council
    • 1 from Forestry Division of Public Works Department
    • 1 from DPW with engineering/construction background
    • 1 from Department of City Planning
    • 1 from Mayor’s Office
    • 1 from Urban Redevelopment Authority
    • 1 from an electric utility
    • The rest from various “educational institutions, community-based organizations, business organizations, and environmental organizations”


  • Jennifer Arkett
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Richard Butler
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Lisa Ceoffe
    Terms expires 12/31/2016
  • Kim Collins
    Terms expires 12/31/2016
  • Matt Erb
    Terms expires 12/31/2016
  • Maribeth Hook
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Mardi Isler, Chair
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Lisa Kunst Vavro
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Joshua Lippert
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Chelsea Peluso
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Casimir Pellegrini
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Mary Savage
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Dan Sentz
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • Molly Stephany
    Term expires 12/31/2016
  • James Stitt
    Term expires 12/31/2016

Residency Requirements

Majority of members must be City residents.



Contact Information


The Office of Mayor William Peduto
512 City County Building, 414 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412-255-2626

© 2015 | City Of Pittsburgh | City Directory
Search | Employee Email | Cityweb | Policies | Regulations
Questions concerning the website? Contact Us
what's this?