Office of Mayor William Peduto
Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission (SPC)


The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission, or SPC, is the region’s forum for collaboration, planning, and public decision-making. As the official Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the 10-county region, including the City of Pittsburgh and the counties of Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Lawrence, Washington, and Westmoreland, SPC is responsible for planning and prioritizing the use of all state and federal transportation funds allocated to the region. The Commission has the authority and responsibility to make decisions affecting the 10-county region.

As the Local Development District (LDD) and Economic Development District (EDD) for southwestern Pennsylvania (as designated by the
U. S. Appalachian Regional Commission and the U. S. Department
of Commerce), SPC establishes regional economic development priorities and provides a wide range of public services to the region. SPC combines management of community assistance, financial assistance, export and government procurement assistance, and special enterprise development activities with delivery of other state and federal programs to help our region become increasingly competitive in national and global markets.

The Commission develops plans and programs for public investments; fulfills federal and state requirements for transportation, economic development, and local government assistance programs; and operates with public involvement and trust.

Governing Documents


Appointment Guidelines

  • 5 members from City of Pittsburgh
    • Mayor of Pittsburgh
    • 3 appointed by the Mayor
    • 1 City Councilperson, appointed by City Council


  • Mayor Luke Ravenstahl
    • Concurrent with Mayor
  • Yarone Zober
    • Concurrent with Mayor
  • Reverend Ricky Burgess
    • Concurrent with Mayor
  • Rob Stephany
    • Concurrent with Mayor
  • Councilman Patrick Dowd
    • Selected by Council

Residency Requirements

Must be a City of Pittsburgh resident.





Contact Information



The Office of Mayor William Peduto
512 City County Building, 414 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412-255-2626

© 2015 | City Of Pittsburgh | City Directory
Search | Employee Email | Cityweb | Policies | Regulations
Questions concerning the website? Contact Us
what's this?